History Repeats itself! Burr Defeats Hamilton… AGAIN!

History Repeats itself!  Burr Defeats Hamilton… AGAIN!

In a dramatic duel, nearly 208 years later, Aaron Burr conquered Alexander Hamilton for a second time– but this time they were battling for a Tony Award! Princess Grace Award winner Leslie Odom Jr. took home his first Tony Award for Best Leading Actor in a Musical for his role as Aaron Burr in the Broadway sensation, Hamilton.  This hard fought battle took place between five extraordinary actors on Sunday night, at the 70th annual Tony Awards held at the Beacon Theatre in New York City.  Leslie faced off against his Hamilton co-star Lin-Manuel Miranda, Zachary Levi of She Loves Me, Danny Burstein of Fiddler on the Roof and Alex Brightman of School of Rock - The Musical.

Leslie was previously honored with various accolades for his role as Aaron Burr, such as the Broadway.com Audience Choice Award nomination for Favorite Actor in a Musical, the Broadway.com Audience Choice Award for Favorite Onstage Pair (with Lin-Manuel Miranda), and the Drama Desk Award nomination for Outstanding Actor in a Musical.

Also dueling it out for a Tony on Sunday night was six-time Tony-nominated costume designer Paul Tazewell. Paul, who won his first Princess Grace Award in 1993, took home his first Tony Award for Best Costume Design of a Musical for Hamilton! Upon hearing that Hamilton was up for so many awards, Paul says, “Well-deserved! It’s fantastic—I would say that everyone involved with Hamilton doesn’t take it for granted. The cast and crew are all aware of how special it is to be a part of such an experience.” And what does he and the rest of the Hamilton cast have planned after its big wins? “We are gonna celebrate,” he says. “It’s been a few months of biting our nails, and it’s also been very, very busy. It’s all been wonderful—but I think we’re all ready to take a nap!”

We congratulate Paul and Leslie’s Tony Award wins!  They have always been winners to us!

As we continue applauding Leslie Odom Jr. and Paul Tazewell for their outstanding 2016 Tony Award wins - we are reminded of ALL of our theater Award winners who have been part of this special community.  Our inspiring story goes back to 1993 when Tony Kushner won a Tony Award for Best Play for his groundbreaking drama Angels in America.  Since then, our Award winners continue to be at the forefront of theater's most compelling and moving stories. From acting, playwriting and directing, to set, sound and costume designs, their contributions have resulted in numerous Tony Award nominations and wins in several categories, including:  Darron L. West for Sound Design, Riccardo Hernandez for Set Design, Christopher Ashley, Anna Shapiro and Sam Gold for Directing. Throughout the years, Paul Tazewell was nominated five additional times for Costume Design.

Read more about their wins below!




June 13, 2016

Back to news